James Madison University Employee Advisory Committee

Final Report for 2017-18 Academic Year May 11, 2018

Chairperson(s):

Susan Dean, Telecommunications

Tisha McCoy-Ntiamoah, College of Business - MBA Program

Committee members:

Tiffany Brutus, Athletics, Student Athlete Affairs

Donna Crumpton, Sponsored Programs Accounting

Vivian Ferris, Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships

Wesley Howdyshell, University Business Office

Rodney Lam, Facilities Management

Paul Mabrey, Communication Center & SCOM

Shea Tussing, Human Resources

Kathleen Gibson, Outreach & Engagement

Jennifer Lang-Rigal, Faculty Senate

Shelley Newman, Information Technology

Kathleen Sensabaugh, Office of Student Accountability & Restorative Practices

Brad Striebig, Engineering Department

Kathy Sarver, Planned Giving

2017-18 meeting dates:

2017 - September 6, October 4, November 1, December 6

2018 - February 7 (meeting cancelled), April 4, May 2

Outgoing committee members:

- Kathy Sarver (AP Faculty)
- Vivian Ferris (Classified)
- Paul Mabrey (Instructional Faculty)
- Susan Dean will remain on committee as ex-officio

Recommendations for incoming members:

Per committee guidelines, approved in 2014-15, new members for 2018-19 should be one instructional faculty, one AP faculty, two classified staff and one wage employee (if possible).

Summary of committee business for 2017-2018:

Along with the President's office the Co-Chairs Planned the President's Opening Address to Staff on August 18, 2017 collected door prizes and oversaw the distribution of prizes. The Committee greeted guests, distributed door prize tickets and helped clean up.

- ➤ Committee Co-Chairs served on the University Planning Team.
- ➤ Committee Co-Chairs served on the Compensation Advisory Council and provided updates and gathered input from the EAC.
- ➤ Committee Co-Chairs served as liaisons to the University Policy Committee, soliciting feedback from the committee on new policies or changes to policies in a timely fashion.
- Committee Co-Chairs served as liaisons to the Employee Appreciation Day Committee. Communicating requests/requirement for EAD to the Office of the President.
- The EAC welcomed several guests to meetings, including Art Dean (Inclusion Task Force), Mike Davis (President's Office) (HR), Rick Larson (Compensation Advisory Council). Jennifer Hart-Barb (EAD), Robert Weese (FM), Brian Charette (Special Assistant to the President for Strategic Planning & Engagement), Amy Sirocky-Meck (Title IX Coordinator).
- ➤ Collaborated with the EAD Committee to plan the "JMU: "Thanks to You" employee appreciation event, on May 10, 2018.
- ➤ Coordinated the EAC/EAD Luncheon May 30, 2018.
- Committee Co-Chairs sent bulk email to JMU employees in May to facilitate employee participation on University Committees and Commissions.

Projected schedule for 2018-2019 Academic year:

President's Address to Staff:

August 18, 2017 (Reserved Wilson Hall 6am-12noon)

August 17, 2017 (Reserved rehearsal in Wilson Hall for 3:30-5:30pm)

Meetings: (Reserved for Moody Conference Room, 1-3pm)

September 5, October 3, November 7, December 5, 2018

February 6, March 6, April 3, May 1, 2019

End of year lunch in May after EAC – Coordinate with President Alger's schedule through Mike Davis.

Employee Appreciation Day 2019: EAC will meet with in Mike July 2018

- Discuss impact of new May schedule if any.
- Discuss President Staff Address 2018.
- How will we support the EAD -May 10, 2019.

Potential visitors for EAC Meetings – New Provost, President Alger, Rick Larson,

Potential Tours for EAC – Madison Hall, Hotel Conference Center